Home Culture Early childhood

Early childhood

LEVEL: Upper-Intermediate


Early childhood follows the infancy stage and begins with toddlerhood when the child begins speaking or taking steps independently.

While toddlerhood ends around age 3 when the child becomes less dependent on parental assistance for basic needs, early childhood continues approximately until the age of 7. At this stage children are learning through observing, experimenting and communicating with others. Adults supervise and support the development process of the child, which then will lead to the child’s autonomy.

Also during this stage, a strong emotional bond is created between the child and the care providers. The children also start preschool and kindergarten at this age: and hence their social lives.



infancy – csecsemőkor

toddlerhood – kisgyerekkor

observing – megfigyelés

process – folyamat

autonomy – önállóság

bond – kötelék

care provider – gondoskodó személy

Previous articleColourful autumn
Next articleHow many red squirrels are there in the UK?