Home article The Solar System

The Solar System

LEVEL: pre-intermediate


The solar system is a fascinating part of our universe. It consists of the sun, eight planets, moons, asteroids, and comets. Let’s explore some key facts about our solar system.

The sun is a massive ball of hot, glowing gases at the center of the solar system. It provides light and heat to all the planets. The planets orbit around the sun in elliptical paths. Mercury is the closest planet to the sun, while Neptune is the farthest.

Each planet has unique characteristics. For example, Earth is the only planet known to have life. Mars has a reddish appearance due to iron oxide on its surface. Jupiter is the largest planet, while Saturn is famous for its beautiful rings. Uranus and Neptune are gas giants, composed mainly of hydrogen and helium.

Moons are natural satellites that orbit around planets. Earth has one moon, while other planets like Jupiter and Saturn have dozens. Some moons, like Saturn’s moon Titan, have atmospheres and geological features.

Asteroids are rocky objects that orbit the sun, primarily found in the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. They vary in size, from tiny pebbles to larger bodies. Comets are icy bodies that originate from the outer regions of the solar system. When they approach the sun, they develop a glowing coma and sometimes a tail.

Scientists study the solar system using telescopes, spacecraft, and robotic missions. These missions provide valuable information about the planets, their atmospheres, and geological features. They help us better understand the vastness and complexity of our cosmic neighborhood.


  1. Sun – Nap
  2. Planets – Bolygók
  3. Life – Élet
  4. Asteroids – Aszteroidák
  5. Telescopes – Távcsövek
  6. Spacecraft – Űrhajók
  7. Robotic – Robotszerű
  8. Missions – Küldetések
  9. Geological – Földtani